John Owen Theobald is a novelist and screenwriter.


These Dark Wings

After her mother is killed in the Blitz and her father drowned in the North Sea, 12-year-old Anna Cooper is sent to live with an uncle she has never met - the Ravenmaster at the Tower of London.

Amid the Tower's old secrets and hidden ghosts, the ravens begin to disappear and Anna must brave the war-torn city to find them.

With Nazi forces massing on the other side of the channel, the fate of Britain might be at stake, for an ancient legend foretells that 'the Kingdom will fall' if the ravens ever leave the Tower.


The Author

Born and raised in Eastern Canada, John moved to the UK to study the poetry of Keats, and in 2009 received a PhD from the University of St. Andrews. He lives in London, England.

John is the author of the Ravenmaster trilogy

John's short fiction has appeared in Bookanista, Untitled Books, The Menteur, and The Four Quarters Magazine.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 4.36.47 PM.png

The Ravenmaster Trilogy

Book 1, These Dark Wings, is available now from Head of Zeus, UK.

Book 2, What the Raven Brings, is released 1 December 2016 in the UK, and 11 March in Canada/ USA.